Learn All About The Carnival Parades In Rio De Janeiro. The Access Group, Special Group and Champion’s Carnival.

King Momo signals the start of Carnival parades throughout the city of Rio. The parading order for the 2018 Rio Carnival was decided by raffle at a ceremony organized by LIESA, the body that organizes Carnival parades. The opening act at the Sambadrome is the Access Group Parade that will commence at 10pm on Carnival Friday, February 09th, 2018.

Champions Parade - Unidos da Tijuca

This is the first in a series of Carnival parades held over the next four days at the Sambadrome. Saturday, February 10th is scheduled for the second day of Access Group competition where samba schools in the second league will put up a spectacular show in a bid to gain a slot in the Special Group in 2018. Carnival parades by the elite group begin on Carnival Sunday, February 11th with six schools in the Special Group performing before a packed stadium and then the Second Day of Special Group Parade on February 12th.

Above the table of Special Group, Access Group and Winner’s Parades of 2018.

Special Group Parade – The parade of the parades.
Time February 11th (Sunday) February 12th (Monday)
22:00 – 23:15 Império Serrano Unidos da Tijuca
23:15 – 00:30 São Clemente Portela
00:30 – 01:45 Vila Isabel União da Ilha
01:45 – 03:00 Paraíso do Tuiuti Salgueiro
03:00 – 04:15 Grande Rio Imperatriz Leopoldinense
04:15 – 05:30 Mangueira Beija-Flor
05:30 – 6:15              Mocidade ———————————-
Access Group or Gold Group 2018
Time February 09th (Sunday) February 10th (Monday)
22:00 – 23:15 Unidos de Bangu Alegria da Zona Sul
23:15 – 00:30 Império da Tijuca Acadêmicos de Santa Cruz
00:30 – 01:45 Acadêmicos do Sossego Unidos do Viradouro
01:45 – 03:00 Unidos do Porto da Pedra Acadêmicos da Rocinha
03:00 – 04:15 Renascer de Jacarepaguá Acadêmicos do Cubango
04:15 – 05:30 Estácio de Sá Inocentes de Belford Roxo
05:30 – 06:45 Unidos de Padre Miguel
Winners’ Parade – Champion and 5 runner-up from Special Group
Time February 17th (Saturday)
22:00 6th place
23:15 5th place
00:30 4th place
01:45 3rd place
03:00 Runnerup
04:15 Champion